It was the icebreaker feeder ship Vistula Maersk, owned by Maersk Line’s subsidiary Seago Line, which took home the title of ‘Danish Ship of the Year 2018’. The winner was announced on Friday at the Danish Maritime Fair in Copenhagen.

The committee who chose Vistula Maersk as the winner have written in a statement:

”The feeder ship market has lived a slightly weakening existence for several years, as the that larger container ships have drawn more attention.

OMT and Maersk Line worked together in a close cooperation with coming up with the final design, which is a great example of what the future’s feeder ships should be, and with its ice reinforcement it is the world’s largest container ship with ice class 1A.

The hull design is formed with a vertical stem with integrated moderate bulb. A stem like this is easier to produce, and at the same time it manages to propulsion easily.  The extended waterline length on all drafts leads to less fuel consumption compared to the traditional bulb, which comes in handy when saving the last percentages.

“It should also be pointed out that the vessel is equipped with rudder bulb, which also reduces the power requirement for propulsion” the committee writes.

Engineer Per Jørgensen, a member of the 4-man independent expertise committee in charge of finding the winner for the award of Danish Ship of the Year, added this comment:

“Aside from the fact that a Danish consulting firm designed the ship, numerous significant Danish subcontractors have contributed to the equipment of the ship:

MAN Diesel and Turbo – Main Engine

DESMI Oceanguard: UV ballast Water management, ballast pump, fire pumps and leaning pumps

Wärtsilä-Lyngsø: Alarm og monitoring system

Hempel: Main deliver of paint and paint for the ballast tanks

NOVENCO: Air condition and ventilation blowers

Grundfoss: Condensation- and feed water pump

Agrometer: Ballast strip pumper

Viking: Life Rafts

On behalf of the committee, I would like to congratulate the company on winning the award” says Per Jørgensen.

CEO of Seago Line, Søren Castbak, gave the thank you speech for the award.

“On behalf of Seago Line, Maersk Line and A.P. Møller – Maersk I thank you for the prestigious award. We are proud that Vistula Mærsk has been selected for this award among other great candidates”, says Søren Castbak.

“Vistula Maersk is the first in a series of seven ice class 1A vessels purpose-built to serve the North Sea and the Baltic Sea. A sister vessel, Volga Maersk, is expected by the end of this month, Both vessels will operate on our North Europe feeder link between Rotterdam and St. Petersburg “.

The Four ships nominated for the award were:

Maersk Master – AHTS Starfish-Class AHTS Maersk Installer – SSV Stingray-class SSV Rockall trawler – built at Karstensen Shipyard Vistula Maersk – icebreaker feeder ship

This is the fourth time the award of Danish Ship of the Year is given. Previous winners are:

2014: Bergensfjord, LNG Ferry Fjord Line

2015: Princess Isabella, LNG Ferry Samsø Shipping Company

2016: OV Bøkfjord, multifunctional ship built by Hvide Sande Shipyard

The four man independent committee, in charge of finding the winner of the Danish Ship of the Year, is headed by ship engineer Hans Otto Holmegaard Kristensen, HOK Marineconsult – and consists of Per jørgensen, Thomas Knudsen, MAN Diesel & Turbo and Henrik Bach, DNVGL.

Danish Maritime Fair 2018 takes place from 2-4 May at Lokomotivværkstedet in Copenhagen. The exhibition is owned by Danish Media Group Maritime Denmark.

The Danish Ship of the Year award comes in form of the ‘Tour du Monde’ sculpture, created by the Belgian-French artist Phil Billen.