Danish Ship of the Year

Danish Ship of the Year Award was founded by the Media Group Maritime Denmark in 2014, the year when Denmark’s first international maritime exhibition, Danish Maritime Fair, took place for the first time.


The only requirement is that the ships, which will be announced as the Ship of the Year must be built in Denmark and / or be owned by or operate a charter for a Danish shipping company. The ship must have been in operation no more than 12 months.


The nominees for the title The Danish Ship of the Year are the ships, which have been chosen as Ship of the Month during the past year (October 2015 – September 2016) in the magazine Maritime Denmark.


It is then up to a six-man committee, headed by the director of the Center for Oil and Gas at DTU, Bo Cerup-Simonsen, to determine which ship is awarded the Danish Ship of the Year.


In addition to Bo Cerup-Simonsen, Committee members are:

• Anders Ørgaard Hansen, OSK

• Hans Otto Kristensen, Danish Shipowners

• Henrik Bach, DNV • Klaus Kjærulf, SKULD

• Per Jørgensen, Engineers’ Association

• Thomas Knudsen, MAN Diesel & Turbo


The six-man committee decides what terms and conditions will lay the grounds for winning the Award.

The announcement of the Danish Ship of the Year takes place in connection with the conference Danish Maritime Technology Conference in Main Deck, Wednesday. 26 October at 11:45.


With the title follows the artwork “The blue Tour du monde”, created by the Belgian / French artist Phil Billen. The artwork will now travel between Danish shipowners as a symbol of where the Danish Ship of the Year belongs.


Danish Ship of the Year 2014 – Fjord Line LNG ferry Bergensfjord.

Danish Ship of the Year 2015 – Princess Isabella – LNG ferry Samsoe Rederi